Nylon Street, The Nylon Book of Global Style — Review

This last month I haven’t exactly spent my time blogging crazily about the fruits of my Christmas bounty, as I feel that at times it can be both annoying and slightly boastful, I have been lining my insides with the most fattening foods, drinking fruity red wines and enjoying my time off college. However, now I’m back in the books and back to my blogging ways, I think that now is best a time as ever to tell you all about a book I received on the 25th of last month from a very good friend of mine.

Post-unwrapping I was intrigued by the concept of this book as I’d never bought a fashion book like this before, other than Vogue or Elle or something. Nylon Street was possibly the best literary gift I have received yet, it’s interesting, fairly hefty (I do love a good weighty book), and more importantly was based on the individual style of countless different people from across London, Copenhagen, Berlin, Paris, New York, Melbourne and Tokyo.

I think the best way to describe  The Nylon Book of Global Style is that it was a, revelation which presented a new slightly opposing view to what I know fashion to be. This book made me feel as if I see fashion through fairly narrowing eyes which I first thought couldn’t be further from the truth. I feel fashion should be something cared over, looked after, nurtured and the result should evoke feelings of inspiration, excitement, creativity and yes in some cases restraint, in my opinion messy fashion isn’t always fashionable, and this book totally blew most of my ideas about fashion out of the water. Each page displayed photographs of outfits thrown together with what seemed to be no real care for presentation, and I will admit I expected something more fashion-forward from a book published by the editor of Nylon magazine; a publication that I feel is a combination of not just wild individuality but style as well. However, there were a few individuals whose fashion I did recognise to be what I perceive as stylish and to me did convey an actual appreciation for fashion, but I do think that this selection of random people is significant to the success of this book.

Thinking about it I probably do have a sort of, narrowed vision, when it comes to fashion, which trust me tastes like vinegar leaving my lips, but I think I may have a very sceptical view on fashion which isn’t the worst quality in the world if you want to be in the industry much like I do. Yes, maybe I feel more… comfortable, when I can enjoy beautiful styling and analyse well put together outfits and couture gowns or take inspiration from rock-infused styling of celebrities looking sexy and confident with styles stolen from the runway and it’s not a crime but it is ignoring the fact that  that’s not all fashion is about. Even though it may not be MY idea of the perfect outfit, somebody took time, effort and thought to decide, ‘yes, that’s what I’ll leave my house in today’ and they shouldn’t be ridiculed or looked down on for their choice, they should be celebrated and empowered because of it and I’ve come to the conclusion that that’s just what this book does.

If every editor, author or industry insider chose to write books or publish magazines that didn’t have some versatility or range in the fashion they exhibited, both good and bad, then we would all be bored with the same run-of-the-mill fashion and their would be no room for mistakes and sometimes it’s the mistakes that makes the fashion so unique. So I guess I should leave you with this thought, Nylon Street had some outfits that weren’t my cup of tea, granted, but they didn’t bore me, some did inspire me and the rest will undoubtedly inspire others which I think was Marvin Scott Jarrett’s desired response.

Not every fashion publication needs to imitate the glamour and elegance of Vogue to be popular and significant to fashion.

Leave a Reply

