Leighton Suits Up?

Now I am a huge fan of Leighton but her get up to IFP’s 20th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards in New York last night just isn’t doing t for me. I’ve seen the likes of Demi Moore and other A lister’s pull of the androgynous look and have applauded Raquel Zimmermann’s elegant masculinity in her July 2010 Vogue France editorial, but this plain Thom Brown suit and tie doesn’t fit the contours of her shape and just kind of sits on her lazily.

 I’m not a huge fan of this dull wannabe black colour on her either. I’m used to seeing her rocking beautiful cerise pinks, khaki greens and ruby reds! Although I am a fan of colour blocking and appreciate her attempt with her berry Ferragamo courts and emerald croc clutch, this look, coupled with her faded smokey eyes and untamed hair, doesn’t scream glamour and elegance as I would expect from her.

Maybe I’m wrong, but that’s how I feel about it. Yay or Nay?

xoxo

Masculine style: Gossip Girl star Leighton Meester wore a suit and tie at the IFP's 20th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards tonight in New YorkMasculine style: Gossip Girl star Leighton Meester wore a suit and tie at the IFP's 20th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards tonight in New York

Leave a Reply

